Break from Social Media: Day 1

Social media is a huge platform for people to stay connected. From Instagram to Snapchat to Twitter and more, people are constantly on their phones, checking for updates and notifications. Although these platforms are a great way to share your daily life and stay connected with all your friends, it’s not necessarily the best thing, for me at least. Everyone is different and everyone sees social media differently. Myself? It’s damaging to me.

Last night, I found myself scrolling through Instagram and that was the beginning of me becoming very sad for the rest of the night. There were several reasons for that which I will not get into but at the end of the night, I ended up simply deleting the app. It wasn’t just that one night, a majority of times, I find myself scrolling through the app, comparing myself to others and that is definitely not healthy. Therefore, I’ve simply decided to delete it for the time being, maybe just for a couple of days for me to breath.

I only really use 3 social media apps, Instagram, snapchat and twitter. Only one I got left now on my phone is twitter, so I can keep updated with bands and announcements (don’t judge me). I feel like without social media, I can stay focused more and not have to be staring at my phone all the time. Moreover, social media does help you stay connected with your friends but it doesn’t necessarily help you converse with them. And that’s what people need to realize. You don’t need to broadcast your life every second of the day. You don’t have to know what EVERYONE is up to at every hour. So here’s to my first day of being social media free (mostly). So let’s see how it goes.

I probably won’t go that long without it, maybe a couple of days? Up to a week. Don’t think I will blog about this on a day to day basis but I’ll update once or twice. If you haven’t tried taking a break from social media yet, you should definitely give it a try. Take a breather, do something, and stop getting so hung up on what everyone else is doing while you’re at home in your bed, watching TV and snacking on a bag of chips because you know what, that is totally okay.

Leave a Reply

