Everybody wants to be loved

I was listening to “About A Girl” by The Academy Is… a while ago and there’s a lyric in the song that goes, “Everybody wants to be loved.” and that just made me think. We constantly live hoping to be one day loved by someone. Hoping that one day we will find what people call their soul mate. Someone who understands them and will be with them until the end. That just made me realize though how hard it is to feel loved by someone and to me it’s rare.

Growing up I’ve always envied relationships that people had with their family or their friends. A relationship where you can clearly see that they do love each other and they mean the world to each other. I’ve always envied the people who said I love you to their parents but for me, we’ve never said that to each other. People always say, “Well why don’t you just start saying I love you.” Gosh, if only it was that easy.

People that have a sibling relationship with their friends, I envy that. I have friends yes but their not exactly my best friends or I guess we don’t really act that way. The sad part is my group of friends stress me out and I would go days without talking to them on a regular basis.

I guess what I’m going with this is that we all want the feeling of being loved by someone, whether that’s a dating relationship, a friendship or as a family. It’s just a matter of when that feeling will reach you.

Leave a Reply

